The war at the beginning of the century and the great plague in 1708-10 led to the depopulation of villages surrounding the capital of Wielkopolska, that a threat to the supply of Poznan with food appeared. It was an urgent matter to find settlers from the outside as soon as possible.The Olęders settlers who took advantage of the invitations of Polish noble landowners in the vicinity of Nekla in the years 1749-1776 were mostly Germans. It is difficult to determine exactly where they came from. Most probably they came from the western part of Wielkopolska and the borderland of Wielkopolska-Brandenburg and Wielkopolsko-Pomorskie.
Rural village. Originally named Rakowo Wierzbowe and under this name it occurs in 1386. Prior to 1386, the village belonged to King Władysław Jagiełło, who donated it to the Kalisz governor - Sędziwoj Paluka from Szubin. His daughter - Małgorzata, the wife of the Kalisz governor - Maciej Łabiszynek - was about 1407, still the owner of Rakowo. About 1520, the owners were Górkowie. In later times, the village was fragmented into smaller villages.
There was Olęder's home in Rakowo (built in 1780). It was a log structure with a thatched roof. The house was looked after by Jan Michalak. Unfortunately, after his death, nobody took care of this unique monument, it was demolished in 2009. In Przyborowo you can see a preserved house with the same structure (for: www.przyborowo.powiatgostyn.pl )